Eric Foss, 2009 Laguna Seca
Make / Model
Mazda 3
Chassis No
Built By
Tri-Point Motorsports
Date Built
Current Status
Built by Tri-Point Motorsports, the car would make it's debut at the final round of the 2009 SCCA World Challenge at Laguna Seca, driven by Eric Foss. The car had been built to SCCA's proposed 2010 TC regulations, broadly similar to S2000 but with a 2.5 litre engine. However over the off-season a lack of potentially entries saw the SCCA rework their new regulations to a more production-based series, effectively rendering the car obsolete.

World Challenge introduced a GTS class between their GT and TC classes which would allow some of the previous generation of touring cars to race, however Mazda decided their was little to be gained in running a factory team in this intermediate class. The car did make one appearance during the year at the Long Beach round. Driven in practice and qualifying by actor Patrick Dempsey, although his filming schedule meant he was unable to race and Charles Espenlaub would drive instead.

Prior to the Long Beach event the car ran at the Buttonwillow Time Attack meeting as an extended shakedown test, and later that year would be on display at the SEMA show sporting Time Attack inspired aero.

At the end of 2012 the engineless chassis came to Europe having been purchased by Swiss race Patrick Gnoss for use in the Belgium BRCC sereies. The cars was rebuilt to S2000-spec and fitted with a 2-litre Mazda MZR engine (Mazda's version of the Ford Duratec unit).

In 2014 the car was sold to İsmet Toktaş, who raced it in the Turkish Touring Car series.

In 2017 the car went to Belgium team Domec Racing, who rebuild the car and replaced the engine. The car was subsequently sold to a French owner although remained unused for the next 5 years until being acquired by a team in Bosnia And Herzegovina.
Eric Foss, 2009 Laguna Seca
2009 SCCA World Challenge (TC)
Tri-Point Motorsports
#3 Eric Foss
Round 10
2010 SCCA World Challenge (GTS)
Tri-Point Motorsports
#3 Patrick Dempsey
Round 3 (practice / qualifying)
2010 SCCA World Challenge (GTS)
Tri-Point Motorsports
#3 Charles Espenlaub
Round 3 (Race)
2013 Belgian Racing Car Sprint Championship
#88 Patrick Gnos
2014 Turkish Touring Car Championship
Ulku Motorsport
#17 İsmet Toktaş
Other Pictures
Eric Foss, 2009 Laguna Seca